Three boys, three girls named to All-Region 8-AAAA soccer team

COVINGTON —Three players on the Eastside boys and girls team were named to the All-Region 8-AAAA soccer team with Tyrik Francis being named to the first team for the second year in a row.

Francis scored 15 goals against some difficult region competition. Of the four region teams that made it to the state playoffs, three made it past the first round including Class AAAA runner-up Johnson, Gainesville.

“He was able to score against the top teams in the state on a regular basis as well as play above the level of competition out of it,” Eastside boys head coach Champ Young said.

With 12 goals and a second-team selection, Mateus Holanda was a legitimate scoring threat from beyond 30 yards out. According to Young, Holanda transferred well from the midfield level to the flanks and wingers with timely passes and through balls.

Both Francis and Holanda were named to participate in the Divarsity.com All-Star game.

“It’s composed of the best players from the entire state of Georgia,” Young added.

Also making the all-region team was Jacob Alwes who was given honorable mention.

“(Alwes) was able to play any position on the field and contribute meaningful minutes depending on what tactics we needed for a win,” Young said. “He was a gritty outside back that looked to join the attack, a physical defensive presence in the midfield winning balls in the air and a scoring threat when placed in the (winger) role.”

Even though the Lady Eagles did not have any players make the first team, three, Alex Morvik, Alli Corbeth and Morgan Green, were named to the second team.

“With a season where we had players miss a total of 29 games due to injury, these young ladies did an outstanding job of keeping their focus and working hard to give us a chance to be competitive every game,” Eastside girls head coach Joel Singleton said.

Of the three, Morvik, a senior, was a team captain and according to Singleton their most versatile player. Morvik started the season as a midfielder before being forced to play goalkeeper out of necessity where she finished with 104 saves.

“She did an excellent job for her first time playing making some incredible saves,” Singleton said. “She was sorely missed on the field, especially her speed and experience, but she never let up.”

While only scoring one goal and having assist, Coberth’s made her contribution on the team with her consistent playmaking ability at midfield.

“She’s one of the hardest working athletes in our school,” Singleton said of his junior captain. “She’s fast, strong and pushes herself to be the best.

As a sophomore, Green was a constant leader on the field. While playing mostly as a central defender, Green was moved to midfield towards the end of the season helping Coberth maintain possession of the ball.

“Morgan led us in goals with five, Singleton said. “She also had 20 saves on defense and took the majority of our corner kicks, scoringone1 goal and assisting three others.”

Making the first team for the girls were Lanier’s Samantha Helmink, Tori Wyant and Maddie Corley, Johnson’s Sandra Macedo, Logan Dumanowsky and Chandler Steele, Chestatee’s Sadie Foote and Jessie Stephens, Walnut Grove’s Sydney Vadney, Madison County’s Alyssa Duncan, Lumpkin County’s Dakota Sullens and Stephens County’s Rosie Knickerbocker.

Joining the Eastside trio on second team were Madison County’s Kerry Huycke and Candice Hammond, Lanier’s Alyssa Santana and Amy Groth, Monroe Area’s Shannon Freeland, Lumpkin County’s Abi Hunt and Ashlyn Atnip and Walnut Grove’s Dallas Jones and Zariyah Scott.

On the boys first team with Francis were Johnson’s Fabian Abarca, Luis Deltoro, Israel Avila, Barut Perez, Isaac Henry, Luis Hernandez and Alberto Deltoro, Chestatee’s Zico Rebollar and Cristian Felix, Lumpkin County’s Josh Booker, Monroe Area’s Javier Rodriguez and Walnut Groves’s Treavor Norton.

On the second team were Lanier’s Carter Kioski, Amaury Ramos and Eduardo Sosa, Madison County’s Luis Herrera, Cody Jones and Joey Sanders, as well as Arnold Gamez (Chestatee), Daniel Ramirez (Monroe Area), Collin Wynn (Walnut Grove), Jared Lee (Stephens County), Bryant Anaya (Johnson) and Eddie Quiroz (Lumpkin County).

Honorable mentions were also given to Arturo Leal (Chestatee), Alberto Reyes (Lanier) and Jacob Queen (Walnut Grove).