Eastside Wagstaff, Jordan/Blockowitz make all-region team

COVINGTON —Eastside’s Justin Wagstaff along with the doubles team of Emmy Jordan and Ellen Blockowitz were made to the Region 8-AAAA tennis team.

Wagstaff was name to honorable mention in boys singles while Jordan and Blockowitz were named honorable mention girls doubles.

“They deserved it. They were a great partnership,” Eastside tennis coach Leah Carlisle said of her doubles team. “Ellen is graduating and has been a leader for the two years I have been coaching. Emmy is really developing into a strong player and was named (Most Valuable Player) of our team. I am happy that the other coaches saw it too.”

Lanier and Madison County were the most dominant boys teams in the region. Both teams had all three singles and both doubles teams make the team.

Madison County’s Keith Strickland was named region Coach of the Year with Stephens County’s Austin Simmons getting Player of the Year honors.

Being named to the first team were Simmons, Preston Walter (Lanier) and Ben Strickland (Madison County) for singles. Both of Madison County’s doubles teams, Adam and Ben Sartain and Koti Nguyen and Hayden Colquitt, were first team.

Madison County’s Tyler Terell and Hank Sartain along with Lanier’s Kevin Wagner were second-team singles. Lumpkin County’s Evan Bafile and Johnathan Gilreath as well as Lanier’s Hojun Lee and Armin Zmajevac were second-team doubles.

Making the honorable mention list with Wagstaff were Steven Whitworth (Stephens County), Kyle Galloway (Lanier) and Lanier’s Derik Sadowski and Paul Seo on doubles.

Lanier’s girls team had the top player, Morgan Buchholz, and the top coach in Ana Rusch.

Three teams from Lanier were on the first team with Buchholz and Lauren Byrd named to first singles with the duo of Jenna Soucia and Carlie Overley named to first doubles. Also on the first team were Madison County’s Maranda Dove for singles and Chestatee’s team of Haley King and Grace Brown for doubles.

Being named to second-team singles were Zdena Janerova (Johnson, Gainesville), Victoria Inman (Lanier) and Shay Brackett (Lumpkin County). The second-team doubles team were Lumpkin County’s Kate Fitts/Claudis Head and Lanier’s Meg McRee/Lindsey Wong.

Honorable mention honors in singles play went to Madison County’s Morgan Dooley and Abby Thrasher and Stephens County’s Kailin Huelsman and Sarah Whitworth. Joining Eastside’s team on doubles honorable mention was Madison County’s Anna Crouse and Kassey Conner.