Local, state elections on ballot Tuesday

CONYERS — Early voting has officially closed and candidates will be making their final push before polls open Tuesday in the primary and nonpartisan elections.

Polls will open across the state from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., and voters will have the chance to vote for their parties’ candidates for a number of statewide and local races to see who will compete in the General Election in November.

Voters must select either a Democratic, Republican or nonpartisan ballot. On the partisan ballots, voters will have a chance to vote in the following statewide races:

• U.S. Senate

• Governor

• Lt. Governor

• Secretary of State

• Attorney General

• Agriculture Commissioner

• Insurance Commissioner

• State School Superintendent

• Labor Commissioner

All ballots include elections to nonpartisan races, including judges to the state Supreme Court and Appeals Court.

In Rockdale County, voters will also vote in the nonpartisan elections for Superior Court judge and Board of Education Posts 1 and 2. The only contested race among these is BOE Post 1, where incumbent Jim McBrayer squares off with Alberteen Young.

Democratic voters in Rockdale can cast ballots for state and national representatives, depending on their district. Those races include:

• U.S. House District 4 – Tom Brown challenges incumbent Hank Johnson Jr.;

• State House District 91 - Diane Adoma challenges Dee Dawkins-Haigler, the incumbent;

• State House District 113 – Incumbent Pam Dickerson faces a challenge from Sharon Sawyer.

All Democratic voters in the county can select which candidate will challenge Republican incumbent JaNice Van Ness in November for Board of Commissioners Post 2. The Democrats seeking the nomination are Josie Dean, Arlan Gibson and Doreen Williams.

Local Democrats will also be asked to weigh in on a number of straw poll questions on topics that include educational priorities, ethics, the minimum wage, economic development and Medicaid.

There are no locally contested Republican races in Rockdale, although Republican voters will also be given some straw poll questions, including topics about a balanced budget, state sales tax, parimutuel betting and millage rate cap for the local Board of Education.

In Newton County, Republicans and Democrats will have contested races on their ballots.

Contested Democratic primary elections for the Georgia General Assembly are U.S. House District 4 and state House District 113.

Locally, Democratic voters in Board of Commissioners District 2 can vote for Earnest Simmons or incumbent Lanier Sims. The victor in that race will square off against Republican candidate Ricky Corley in November.

BOC District 4 voters can choose from incumbent J.C. Henderson, Sonya Hunte and Jacquelyn Smith. No Republican qualified in that district.

Shakila Henderson-Baker is running unopposed for Board of Education District 3.

Newton County Democrats are likewise given a number of straw poll questions, ranging from topics about education funding and the minimum wage to tax exemptions for corporations and rules governing elections.

Newton County Republicans will also have a Congressional and state House seat to decide:

• U.S. House District 10 — Mike Collins, Gary Gerrard, Jody Hice, Donna Sheldon, Stephen Simpson, Brian Slowinski and Mitchell Swan are standing for election in the open seat. The winner in the primary race – if there is no runoff – will square off with Kenneth Dious in the General Election in the fall.

• State House District 112 – Dave Belton, Aaron Brooks and Ester Fleming are seeking this seat. No Democrat qualified for this race.

The two Board of Education seats up for election are unchallenged. Stan Edwards will represent District 1 and Abigail Coggin will again represent District 5.

There will be no voting Monday prior to the election. Voters will need to go to their assigned polling locations on Election Day. Elections officials remind voters to visit the Secretary of State’s My Voter page to make sure they know which district they will be voting in for the state races and where their polling place is located.