Local high schoolers selected for scholarshps from Snapping Shoals

COVINGTON – Snapping Shoals EMC recently awarded $40,000 in scholarships to 20 high school seniors throughout the state, 11 of which are from Rockdale and Newton counties.

Covington-based Snapping Shoals awarded two different educational grants — the J.E. Robinson Memorial Scholarship and the All-Around Student Scholarship — which are both worth $2,000 each, according to a press release from Snapping Shoals.

Ifeoma Egbulem and Brandon Hayden of Newton High were awarded the J.E. Robinson scholarship, while fellow Newton High seniors Sierra Fleming and Bradford Porter were selected for the All-Around scholarship. Alcovy High’s Lesley Ochei was also chosen to receive the J.E. Robinson scholarship.

From the Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology, Aqib Momin, Aaron Barron and Sheyenne Rowe were selected for scholarships. Momin was awarded the J.E. Robinson Scholarship, while Barron and Rowe were chosen to receive the All-Around scholarship. Alexus Mathis from Salem High, Julie Roseberry from Heritage High and Brianna Patton of Rockdale County High were all selected for the J.E. Robinson scholarship as well.

Named after the power provider’s CEO who passed away in 2004, the J.E. Robinson Scholarship is awarded to students based on academic ability, school activities, financial need, community involvement and other criteria.

Created in 2007, the All-Around scholarship is given to students who are able to balance extracurricular activities and a decent academic record, with involvement in school and community activities being the primary factor of consideration for the recipient. Also taken into regard is the student’s academic capability and financial need.

Although the students have been chosen to receive the scholarships, they have not officially received them yet.

“They won’t receive it until they submit proof of school enrollment, and then we send the checks to them in the mail,” said Snapping Shoals spokeswoman Leigh-Anne Burgess.

The scholarships are funded by unclaimed capital credits, which are the revenues that are over and above the cost of providing service for customer-owners of the electric co-op for a specific year after financial obligations have been met. These funds also support programs such as the Bright Ideas program, and other community and economic development projects.