Candidates qualify in Newton, Rockdale

CONYERS — Those interested in having their name on the election ballot received their last opportunity to do so on Friday. Qualifying closed at noon on Friday in Newton and Rockdale counties.

The Primary Election is set for May 20 and the General Election is Nov. 4.

In Rockdale County, incumbent JaNice Van Ness was the only Republican to qualify to run for the Post 2 Board of Commissioners seat.

Three Democrats qualified to seek election to the post: Josie Dean, Doreen Williams and Arlan Gibson.

Katrina McCollum-Young qualified to seek re-election to the nonpartisan Post 2 on the Rockdale County Board of Education.

Incumbent Jim McBrayer will square off against Alberteen Young for the Post 1 seat.

In Newton, three Board of Education seats and two Board of Commissioners positions will be on the ballot.

Three of the BOE candidates are unopposed. Incumbents Shakila Henderson-Baker and Abigail Coggin are running for re-election to District 3 and District 5 seats, respectively.

Stan Edwards will run unopposed for the District 1 seat that is currently held by Jeff Meadors, who will not seek re-election.

Former Newton BOE member Rickie Corley has qualified as a Republican to seek the Board of Commissioners District 2 seat currently held by Lanier Sims.

Sims will face fellow Democrat and former BOC member Earnest Simmons in the May 20 primary.

The following candidates had qualified with the Newton County Democratic and Republican parties:

Rockdale County

• Board of Commissioners, Post 2

Republican — JaNice Van Ness (incumbent)

Democrat — Josie Dean, Doreen Williams, Arlan Gibson

• Board of Education, Post 1 (Nonpartisan)

Jim McBrayer (incumbent)

Alberteen Young

• Board of Education, Post 2 (Nonpartisan)

Katrina McCollum-Young (incumbent)

Newton County

• Board of Commissioners, District 2

Republican: Rickie Corley

Democrat: Lanier Sims (incumbent), Earnest Simmons

• Board of Commissioners, District 4

Republican: None

Democrat: J.C. Henderson (incumbent), Sonya Hunte

• Board of Education, District 1

Republican: Stan Edwards

Democrat: None

• Board of Education, District 3

Republican: None

Democrat: Shakila Henderson Baker (incumbent)

• Board of Education, District 5

Republican: Abigail Coggins (incumbent)

Democrat: None

Four candidates in Newton County qualified for the two supervisors positions in the Upper Ocmulgee River Soil and Water Conservation District. David T. Hays, Jefferey Shannon Hudgins and Charles H. Berry IV submitted petitions that were approved and the fourth petition was being verified as of 1:30 p.m. Friday, according to the county’s Board of Elections.

In Rockdale County, David Shipp qualified for the Soil and Water Conservation District board.

There will be a non-partisan election held on Nov. 4 to elect the two supervisors.

Voter registration deadline is April 21 for the Primary and Oct. 6 to vote in the General Election.