0

Newton BOC approves extra holiday in 2015

COVINGTON — Newton County employees will receive 12 holidays throughout the next year.

On Thursday, the Board of Commissioners approved a resolution that will give employees an extra holiday this year.

Typically, county employees are given 11 holidays. However, due to the fact that Christmas falls on a Thursday this year, Commission Chairman Keith Ellis presented a resolution that would give employees the day after Christmas off in exchange for working on Good Friday.

Commissioner John Douglas asked how much it would cost the county if they were to also include Good Friday as a paid holiday.

After some discussion, Assistant County Manager Tom Garrett said there would be no additional cost to the county. He explained that he would not anticipate any loss of revenue by tax offices being closed on the holiday and that first responders who have to work on any given holiday are given equivalent time off on another day.

Ellis said he was pleased that employees would be able have a nice Christmas break and Good Friday off.

“These are the two most important holidays of the year,” he said.

Commissioner Levie Maddox made the motion to approve 12 paid holidays for county employees. Those holidays are:

• Fourth of July – (already passed)

• Labor Day – Monday, Sept. 1

• Veterans Day – Tuesday, Nov. 11

• Thanksgiving – Thursday, Nov. 27

• Day after Thanksgiving – Friday, Nov. 28

• Christmas Eve (one-half day) — Wednesday, Dec. 24

• Christmas Day – Thursday, Dec. 25

• Day after Christmas – Friday, Dec. 26

• New Year’s Day — Thursday, Jan. 1

• Martin Luther King Day — Monday, Jan. 19

• Good Friday – Friday, April 3

• Memorial Day – Monday, May 25