Cici's Pizza will raise money for Special Olympics Georgia

CONYERS — For the entire month of July, local pizza lovers will have a chance to indulge their love for the cheesy food and donate to a worthy cause at the same time.

Along with two other Cici’s Pizza locations throughout the state, the Conyers branch of Cici’s is kicking off a fundraiser for the Special Olympics Georgia. Customers will have the opportunity to purchase a $1 paper logo in exchange for a free regular-sized drink coupon, which will be redeemable in August with the purchase of an adult buffet order. All proceeds from the logo sales will benefit Special Olympics Georgia state programs.

“We’ve sold a few — about a hundred so far,” said Conyers Cici’s manager Melinda Harbor. “We just ask people when they come in if they want to donate.”

Special Olympics athletes will be present for a meet-and-greet session with Cici’s customers on July 12 from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

To close the promotion on July 31, Cici’s will host the “Cover the Cruiser” event, where customers will be challenged to purchase enough logos cover an entire law enforcement vehicle. Along with enveloping a cop car with the logos, Cici’s will donate 10 percent of all of the July 31 sales to the Special Olympics Georgia cause.

“This is our third year to partner with Special Olympics, and we are honored to engage our teams and guests to benefit such an admirable organization again this year,” said Diana Isaacson, CiCi’s field marketing manager, in a press release. “CiCi’s cares about its communities and all the families that make them great. We invite our guests to come in and help us support this worthy cause.”

Special Olympics Georgia is a year-round sports training and athletic competition coordinator for Olympic-type events for children and adults with intellectual disabilities.

Along with the Conyers location, the Cici’s locations in Decatur and Cumming will be taking part in the Georgia Special Olympics fundraising event. Cici’s locations in Florida, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, New Jersey and New York will be participating as well.