Newton County candidates sought for Soil and Water Conservation District supervisors

COVINGTON — Qualifying is now open for those interested in being elected as Georgia Soil and Water Conservation District supervisors and nominations will be accepted through Friday, March 7.

A non-partisan election will be held on Nov. 4 to elect two supervisors from Newton County in the Upper Ocmulgee River Soil and Water Conservation District.

Supervisors serve as unpaid state officials who represent their counties in support of soil and water conservation activities.

There are now 40 soil and water conservation districts in Georgia covering all 159 counties in the state. Districts may be composed of one, two, or multiple counties. Each county in Georgia is represented by two or more conservation district supervisors. Of the 370 volunteer district supervisors serving, 195 are elected for four-year terms to represent their county and 175 are appointed by the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission to two-year terms.

The current board of supervisors are Phillip Standard, Bill Witten, Charlie Lane, David Hayes and Preston Wynens.

Hays currently holds one of the elected positions while the other elected position is vacant, according to Keegan Malone, regional representative for the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission.

To qualify, candidates need to be a citizen of Georgia, a qualified voter and a resident of Newton County. Candidates must also submit a petition to the Newton County Board of Elections superintendent with at least 25 signatures from qualified registered voters in the county before the qualifying deadline at noon on March 7.

Petitions may be obtained from the Newton County Board of Elections office, located at 1113 Usher St., or downloaded from the Commission’s website at www.gaswcc.org.