Bulldogs win Area 2-AAAAAA Traditional Tournament

COVINGTON — Rockdale came in and dominated the Area 2-AAAAAA traditional meet finishing in first place nine times as they easily won area championship at Alcovy on Saturday.

The Bulldogs won the championship scoring 262.50 points with Alcovy coming in second with 217.50 points and Newton finishing third with 151 points.

The top four of each weight call will advance to the Class AAAAAA East Sectional on Friday at Lowndes.

Rockdale leads all area schools sending 13 wrestlers to Lowndes with Alcovy sending 12 and Newton sending seven.

Adding the title of Area 2-AAAAAA champion to their resume are Rockdale’s Alonzo Allen (113-weight class), Stephen Hart (120), Lenny Mejias (126), Tyrone Heam (132), Clifton Casurra (138), Ronzell Teague (152), Sean Mer (160), Luis Galindo (182) and Michael Mason (285). Alcovy’s area champions are Darryl Nichols (106), Austin Richardson (152), Parfait Fondseyuf (170) and Kamari Williams (195) with Newton’s AJ Palomino (220) also taking his spot on the top of the podium.

Newton, who had four wrestlers in the runner-up spot, had the most second place finishes followed by Alcovy with three.

Finishing second were Newton’s Eduardo Jarquin (106), Akil Maolud (145), James Paul (152) and Anthony Bradley (170). Runner-ups from Alcovy were Tajuan Jenkins (113), Johnathon Carlson (126) and D’Anthony Elder (160).

Winning the consolation bracket were Rockdale’s Tyler Jackson (170), Alcovy’s Patrick Cochran (120), Jake Hendrix (138), Christopher Dubois (145) and Newton’s Shaidren Carter (182).

Heading to Lowndes in the No. 4 seed spot are Rockdale’s Dante Lawhorne (152), Jaulil Rash (195) and Keythone Robinson (220). Going from Alcovy are Jerry Pike (132), Michael Thurman (182) with Oliver Jarwuin (113) representing Newton.

Eastside, who finished in sixth place in the Area 8-AAAA tournament, will be sending five wrestler to the Class AAAA East Sectional in Lanier starting on Friday.

Heading to Lanier will be Area 8-AAAA champion Mitchell Troutman (182), runner-ups Levi Leach (120), Misha Felton (126), consolation winner Rod Boley (106) and consolation runner-up Matt Malcom (132).