Rockdale's Willette takes top spot in Winder-Barrow Invitartional

COVINGTON — Rockdale freshman Dax Willette beat 103 runners to take the top spot in the Winder-Barrow Invitational at Bramlett Elementary in Auburn on Saturday.

Willette’s finish in 17 minutes, 12.61 seconds helped give the Rockdale boys a second place team finish with 95 points. Winder-Barrow won their invitational with 62 points.

Also scoring for Rockdale were Logan Hull (11 overall, 18:15.52), Jonathan Butler (19, 18:40.13), Sulaimane Bangura (27, 18:53.06) and Kevin Mendez (37, 19:14.89).

The Eastside boys were not as successful finishing 15 out of 15 teams with 383 points.

Landon Moore was the first Eastside runner to cross the finish line coming in 66th place with a time of 20:31.38. Trailing Moore were Patrick Dogherty (72, 20:39.09), Jacob Alwes (76, 20:51.33), Joshua Magee (79, 20:57.25) and Matthew Tewsbury (90, 21:43.89).

On the girls side, Rockdale and Eastside finished in the back of the pack as a team. Rockdale came in 13th out of 14 teams with 356 points while Newton came in last with 391 points.

Getting the points for Rockdale were Ke’ Audriah Lewis (35, 24:31.86), Kyandi Lattimer (65, 27:28.70), Amani Mansur (76, 30:02.89), Jada Jackson (89, 37:24.76) and Nadia Ashley (91, 39:33.15).

Finishing in the top five for Eastside runners were Taylor Jones (67, 28:10.58), Ashley Crawford (79, 30:23.18), Jones Madison (80, 30:36.47), Delany Murphy (82, 30:54.20) and Taylor Betchler (83, 30:59.13).

In the Greyhound Invitational held at Gray Station Middle School in Gray on Saturday, the Newton boys finished in the top third of the teams coming seventh out of 29 teams with 206 points. The Newton girls also had a respectable showing coming in 12th of 19 teams.

Kameron Wallace and Shemar Rannie were in a close race for 14th place in the boys race as they were separated by .35 seconds. At the end it was Wallace that won with a time of 18:34.18 with Rannie coming in at 18:34.53 for 15th.

Randolph Barratt finished 39th at a time of 19:37.06 followed by Malik Franklin (52, 20:09.06) and Cameron Clark (86, 20:52.31).

Union Grove won the Invitational with 78 points with Evans’ Felipe Alatorre finishing first overall with a time of 17:05.38.

Newton’s top girl was Rachael Brown (20, 23:38.15) followed by Maiya Newton (32, 24:36.44), Riara Santos (79, 26:37.84), Brianna Hayden (81, 26:40.25) and Genevie Antoine (86, 26.52).

Veterans had the top runner as well as the best score. The Veterans girls won the meet with 70 points while Bethanie Bailey had the best time finishing in 20:13.34.