Incumbent Chris Smith defeats Maurice Carter in City Council race

COVINGTON — Covington City Councilman Chris Smith was successful Tuesday in his bid for reelection to the Post 1, East Ward seat on the Covington City Council.

“I am ecstatic,” Smith said after the results were announced Tuesday evening. “I want to thank all the people who helped on my campaign, and I especially want to thank my family. I look forward to serving four more years with the city of Covington.”

Smith faced opposition from business executive Maurice Carter, whose wife, Kim Carter, served from 2008 to 2011 as mayor of Covington.

According to unofficial results from Tuesday’s election, Smith garnered 55.81 percent of the vote with 346 voters casting ballots for him. Carter received 44.19 percent, or 274 votes.

Carter expressed disappointment in the election results, but said he wanted to encourage those who “shared our vision and who worked hard not to give up.”

“The results were not what we hoped for and they were not what we expected,” he said. “While I am disappointed, I am proud of the campaign we ran.”

Turnout was light Tuesday, as was predicted by elections officials.

By Friday morning, the last day for early voting, only about 300 voters of the 3,213 active voters in the East Ward had cast ballots.

With the Post 1, East Ward race being the only contested election in Covington, Newton County Elections Supervisor Donna Morrison had predicted total turnout would be about 15 percent.

This will be Smith’s second term on the council. Throughout the campaign, Smith said that taxes, attracting new businesses to the area and continued support for the Covington Municipal Airport were three top priorities the city must address in the coming years.

Smith is president of Newton Electric Supply and lives in Covington with his wife, Gidget, and daughters, Ashley and Kristi.

The city of Mansfield also held an election Tuesday. In a unique twist, two incumbents squared off when Post 5 incumbent Larry Cummins switched posts to run against Post 4 incumbent Lisa Dunn. Elections results in that race were not available by press time Tuesday.