Willette takes top spot in region cross country, Rockdale boys win team title

LOCUST GROVE — The Rockdale boys cross country team won its first ever region championship with the help of freshman Dax Willette’s first place finish to win the individual title on Saturday at Luella High School.

The boys took the Region 2-AAAAAA championship with 31 points as four of the five scorers finished in the top 10. Following Willette’s first-place finish in 16 minutes, 57.69 seconds was teammate Logan Hull who came in second with a time of 17:20.18.

Closing out the scoring for the Bulldogs were Jonathan Butler (fifth - 17:37.58), Patrick Massie (10 - 18:00.82) and Sulaimane Bangura (13 - 18:51.96).

The Newton boys had one runner, Kameron Wallace, qualify for the Class AAAAAA state meet as an individual finishing in ninth place with a time of 17:59.90.

Also running for the Newton boys were Randolph Barratt (16 - 19:02.07), Cameron Clark (19 - 19:11.27), Nakai James (23 - 19:53.33) and Richard Nelson (32 - 20:29.04).

Joining Rockdale in the state meet are Druid Hills who finished second with 46 points followed by Morrow (74) and Luella (93). Newton finished in fifth place with 99 points followed by Lovejoy with 168.

Running for Alcovy, who with four runners did not have enough to qualify for a team score, were Harold Monte (19:01.10), Jeremy Branch (21.56.87), Demario Loyal (22.29.64) and Deandre German (24:36.14).

Both the Rockdale and Newton girls teams made it to the state meet by finishing in the top four of the region meet. Coming in the top four in the region meet were Druid Hills (21), Newton (61), Luella (67) and Rockdale (79).

Running for Alcovy were Brianna Archer (25:17.13) and Miyanna Goodson (26:28.41).

Scoring the 61 points for Newton were Maiya Newton (eighth - 23:33.36), Riara Santos (11 - 24:37.99), Brianna Hayden (12 - 24:55.74), Genevie Antoine (14 - 25:29.36) and Desire’ Griffin (16 - 25:35.96).

Representing the Rockdale girls were Kyandi Lattimer (10 - 24:28.11), Elizabeth Lowe (13 - 25:00.25), Amani Mansur (17 - 26:18.09), Oryah Bangura (18 - 26:42.84) and Maria Campos (21 - 28:09.87).

Claiming the top spot for the girls individual title was Luella’s Jojo Heckman who completed the run in a time of 21:17.95.