Preston, Huff best in Region 2-AAAAAA football

COVINGTON — Rockdale’a Kentavius Preston and Newton’s Deandre Huff were in a category all by themselves for the Region 2-AAAAAA football team.

Preston was named as defensive player of the year with Huff being named the special team player of the year.

While playing linebacker, Preston impressed the other region coaches with his 78 tackles including 19 for a loss, four sacks, two interceptions, forcing two fumbles and three pass break-ups.

Lovejoy’s Al Hughes was named coach of the year with Wildcats receiver Preston Williams named offensive player of the year.

Local players were well represented with 16 of the 28 players listed on the first team.

Rockdale’s Blake Davis, Newton’s Corey Thomas and Alcovy’s Ryan Adams proved to be the best in securing the line as they were named the best linemen in the region.

Newton’s Davonte Jones led the core of receivers with 35 catches for 590 yards and seven touchdowns. Also getting 35 catches was Alcovy’s Jaylin Penny for 574 yards and five touchdowns. Rockdale’s Terrell Mclaughlin made the first cut with 15 catches for 364 yards and three touchdowns.

Tristin Payne showed that he could do it all being named as the first-team overall athlete. He carried the ball 267 times gaining 1,105 yards scoring six times. When he was sitting behind the center, he went 77-for-178 throwing for 1,035 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Also making first team was Rockdale punter Devin Dawkins.

Area players also had a big impact on defense with eight players.

Alcovy’s Curtiss Benton and Rockdale’s Julian McKnight were the most disruptive on the front line. Benton had 96 total tackles with 25 going for a loss. he also had 15 sacks, forced three fumbles had a defensive touchdown and was credited with a safety.

At linebacker, Okon Godwin had 80 tackles with six for a loss. He also had a fumble recovery and two touchdowns while intercepting the ball six times and knocking it down five times.

Newton linebacker Dez Billingslea had 91 tackles with five being behind the line adding three sacks and causing one fumble.

In the backfield, Rockdale’s Shakym Peters had 32 tackles, three for a loss, three interceptions and nine break ups. Also for Rockdale in the secondary is Anthony Davis with 42 tackles, two for a loss, three interceptions and eight break ups. Alcovy’s Robert Bullard had four interceptions, eight break ups and one defensive touchdown.

Named as top defensive athlete was Rockdale defensive end Robert McCray with 64 tackles, 18 for a loss, 11 sacks and five forced fumbles.

The rest of the first offensive team were Morrow’s Courtney Heard (QB), Lovejoy’s Jeremia Kirkland (RB), Druid Hill’s Hassan Enis (RB), Morrow’s Keenon Davis (WR) and Lovejoy’s Randy Robinson and Justin Brown at offensive line.

First-team defense were Luella’s A. J. Reeves and Lovejoy’s Kris Ellis at defensive line, Luella’a Steve Osondu and Lovejoy’s Randy Anyanwu at linebacker, Lovejoy’s Montrell Custis at defensive back and Lovejoy’s Jamie Nunez at kicker.

On the second-team offense are from Newton - Romario Johnson (QB); Nuku Yobo (OL); Taylor Hawkins (OL). Rockdale - Akwesi Mintah (WR). Alcovy - D’Anthony Bell (Ath). Lovejoy - Kevin Morris-Strong (RB); Tremaine Dillard (WR); Mike Jones (OL). Luella - Trevone Sullivan (RB); Darren Drake (OL). Druid Hills - Tyqueze Walker (OL); Ben Whealler (P) and Morrow’s Tyler Moore (WR).

Second-team defense: Newton - Derek Green (DL); Christopher Franklin (DB); Robbie Wallace (Ath). Lovejoy - Toryan Bell (DL); Brandon Williams (DB); Jordan Collier (DB). Druid Hills - Dajour Maddox (DL); Dax Tolson (LB). Morrow - Miles Leary (DL); Reggie McMullen (LB); Tajmell Speights (DB). Luella - Wendell Mitchell (LB); Jaylon Harris (LB); Giancarlo Malerba (K).

Honorable mention: Alcovy - Michael Moses (OL); Jared Farley (RB); Cameron Banks (DB); Roman Mack (DB). Newton - Steven Montac (DB); Alex Jacobs (OL); Jordan Manson (DE); Atrice Hobbs (RB). Rockdale County - Brandon Harris (LB); Malachi Chang Smith (LB); Keijne Thomas (RB); T.J. Warren (DB). Druid Hills - Jalen Carter (DB); Michael Scott (QB); K’Tjuan Clark (WR); Javier Lee (DL). Lovejoy - Darien Conley (OL); Horato Brown (DL); Dion Hill (DL); Chauncey Jackson (LB). Luella - Malik Skinner (DE); Terry Thomas (DE); Quad Clemmons (RB); Sal Vazquez (LB). Morrow - Derwin Jackson (DB); Devon Jennings (WR); Xavier Essex (LB).