Willette,Wilson lead All-Citizen cross country teams

COVINGTON — Rockdale’s Dax Willette and Heritage’s Alexia Wilson proved that they had what it took to win the top spot as the 2013 All-Citizen cross country leaders.

Willette had four first place finishes this season including winning the Region 2-AAAAAA championship with a time of 16 minutes, 57 seconds. His other wins came in the New/Rock (17:37), Winder-Barrow Invitational (17:12) and the North Oconee meet (17:36). At the Class AAAAAA state meet, Willette broke the 18-minute mark coming in 37th place overall with a time of 17:29.

Even his worst finish was a top-10 coming in eighth place with a time of 17:15 in the Golden Eagle Invitational.

Making the 2013 All-Citizen cross country first-team with Willette were Rockdale’s Logan Hull and Jonathan Butler, Heritage’s Jaliah Galimah and Darryl Bowie and Newton’s Kameron Wallace.

Heritage had three runners on the second team with Rockdale, Newton, Eastside and Alcovy getting one runner each.

Representing Heritage are Tj Wilson, Samuel Wells and Chase Hall with Rockdale’s Sulaimane Bangura, Newton’s Randolph Barrett, Alcovy’s Harold Monte and Eastside’s Landon Moore.

On the honorable mention list are Cameron Clark (Newton), Patrick Dogherty (Eastside), Jacob Alwes (Eastside), Sager McCrary (Heritage), Malik Franklin (Newton) and Devin Herring (Eastside).

In Wilson’s five races, she placed in the top-10 four times finishing second in the New/Rock with a time of 23:08. Her best time of the season was 20:13 for an eighth-place finish in the Aubrae Gunderson Invitational.

Wilson had a lot of company on the first team as three other Heritage runners join her on that list. Making first team from Heritage were Ferree Buck, Sophie Moll and Emily Taylor. Also making first team were Newton’s Maiya Newton and Riara Santos.

Heritage also dominated the second team with three runners followed by two from Rockdale and one from Alcovy.

From Heritage are Damali Thomas, Erin Carter and Estrella Bailon with Kyandi Lattimer and Elizabeth Lowe representing Rockdale and Alcovy’s Brianna Archer.

Named to honorable mention are Newton’s Genevie Antoine, Brianna Hayden and Desire’ Griffin, Heritage’s Melissa Jasso, Rockdale’s Oryah Bangura and Eastside’s Taylor Jones.