Four running for Conyers mayor

CONYERS — Qualifying for the Municipal Election closed at 4:30 p.m. Friday. The mayoral election in Conyers is the most hotly contested, with four candidates: incumbent Randy Mills, Michael Thomas Zanetti, Kathy Lorraine Harvey and Olivia Ware.

Council member Cleveland Stroud is unopposed in District 1 and Chris Bowen is the sole qualifier for District 2, Post 1.


Post 1, East Ward is the only contested race in Covington, with incumbent Chris Smith facing Maurice Carter. Incumbents Hawnethia Williams and Ocie Franklin will reclaim the West Ward Post 2 and 3 seats without opposition.


An employee at Porterdale City Hall asked that questions related to qualifying be addressed to City Manager Bob Thomson, who could not be reached for comment by deadline.


Incumbents on the Oxford City Council will not face opposition this year. Qualifiers were those who already hold posts 4, 5 and 6 — David Eady, Jim Windham and Terry Smith.


Candidates in the Newborn election are also free from opposition. Qualifying in Newborn were incumbents Roger Sheridan for mayor and Martha Ellwanger for Post 4. Ruth Sams was the sole qualifier for Post 3, currently held by Tom Krieger.


Post 4 in Mansfield will be a contested race between two incumbents with Larry Cummins and Lisa Dunn qualifying. Dunn currently holds Post 4 while Cummins holds Post 5. Jeff Riley was the only qualifier for Post 3 and Matt Clark for Post 5.