Reception will honor outgoing BOC members

COVINGTON -- A reception honoring Board of Commissioners Chairwoman Kathy Morgan and commissioners Mort Ewing and Tim Fleming will take place from 4 to 6 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 18, at the Newton County Historic Courthouse.

The dessert reception will be held in the board room on the third floor, and the general public is invited.

Both Ewing and Fleming opted not to seek another term in office, while Morgan lost her bid for re-election in the July primary to Democrat Marcus Jordan. Republican Keith Ellis went on to win the General Election.

Morgan is the first woman elected to serve as chair of the Board of Commissioners.

Ewing has served three terms as the BOC representative of District 1. He announced early this year that he would not seek reelection.

"On Dec. 31, 2012, I will complete my 12th year as a district commissioner," Ewing stated in his letter to the BOC. "I have made every effort to be a team player and to make decisions that were in the best interest of Newton County. My personal goal has always been to represent the citizens of Newton County in good faith as an honest public servant."

Former State Sen. John Douglas will take office as the District 1 representative in January.

First-term commissioner District 5 Commissioner Tim Fleming also opted out of running for another term.

Fleming said he is taking a break from politics to spend more time with his family.

"I've served on the principles I campaigned on; I've never voted for a tax increase. We've raised the millage once in the past three and a half years and I did not support that. The preliminary numbers we've seen on the tax digest indicate there's no need for a tax increase this year. We put together a $57 million SPLOST that was approved by voters last March (2011) that will improve the quality of life in this county, and we implemented a more effective and efficient form of government. Some might not always agree with every decision I've made, but I've always done what I believe is best for the county," he stated after his announcement in April.

Political newcomer Levie Maddox won the District 5 post in November.

Morgan, Ewing and Fleming will attend their final board meeting as elected officials at 7 p.m. following the reception.


Sign in to comment