DeKalb Tech takes 15 medals in state competition

Students from DeKalb Technical College recently competed at the state 
SkillsUSA competition. They took home 15 medals in various areas.

Students from DeKalb Technical College recently competed at the state SkillsUSA competition. They took home 15 medals in various areas.

Clarkston -- DeKalb Technical College won big at the 2011 Georgia Post-secondary SkillsUSA Championship. The statewide competition was held March 17 through 19 in Atlanta and Columbus.

SkillsUSA is a national nonprofit organization serving teachers and high school and college students who are preparing for careers in trade, technical and skilled service occupations, including health occupations.

"DeKalb Tech had a phenomenal showing in this year's competition," said Christine Harden, DeKalb Tech's Club & Organization Specialist. "Our students worked hard in honing their skills leading up to the state competition. That hard work paid off."

DeKalb Technical College took home gold in eight categories that include: American Spirit; Chapter Business Procedures; Outstanding Chapter; Promotional Bulletin Board; Tech Prep Showcase Business, Management and Technology; Tech Prep Showcase Health Services; Tech Prep Showcase Industrial and Engineering Technology and Entrepreneurship.

Silver medals were won in Community Service; Job Skills Demo Open; Occupational Health and Safety Single; Occupational Health and Safety Multiple; and Practical Nursing.

Bronze was won in Architectural Drafting; and Automotive Service Technology.

In addition to winning medals, DeKalb Tech welding student Cotina Howard was also elected as a SkillsUSA State Officer, and Christine Harden will serve as SkillsUSA State Officer Advisor.

College President Robin Hoffman and Larry Teems, DeKalb Tech's Executive Vice President, attended the awards ceremony and said Harden is credited with boosting DeKalb Tech's participation in SkillsUSA this year and helping to win numerous honors.

"We brought Ms. Harden to DeKalb Tech to work with student activities," Teems said. "She brings a wealth of knowledge from SkillsUSA on a state level. It has certainly paid off with our numerous awards. We are proud of our students and Ms. Harden's effort."

"The students represented us very well," Hoffman added.

First place or gold winners will now go on to compete on a national level at a June conference in Kansas City.

The student winners and the categories in which they competed include:

American Spirit (1st Place) - Rafael McCoyChapter

Business Procedures (1st Place) - Florence Anderson; Jeffery Cummings; Mary Chalmers; Adlai Chiddick; Tanya Volcin-Swan; April Williams

Outstanding Chapter (1st Place) - Lakeisha Hardin; Desiree Paschall

Promotional Bulletin Board (1st Place) - Joel Francis, Lela Henry, Arnteus Taylor

Tech Prep Showcase Business, Management and Technology (1st Place) - Shaun Belcher; Lanier Bradley; James Studaway

Tech Prep Showcase Health Services (1st Place) - Anita Carrasquillo Alford; Olga Dixon; Natasha Perry

Tech Prep Showcase Industrial and Engineering Technology (1st Place) - Russell Bubb; Stephen Kimani;

Earl McFarland Entrepreneurship (1st Place) - Grant Martin; Patrick A. McDaniel;

Michael Powder Community Service (2nd place) - Cotina Howard; Jafa'r Power;

Juanell Williams Job Skills Demo Open (2nd place) - Kelly Alexander;

Occupational Health and Safety Single (2nd place) - Luther Ingram; Lamond Black; Jonathan Frechette

Occupational Health and Safety Multiple (2nd place) - Dorothea Hofler, Alexandria Culberson

Practical Nursing (2nd place) - Margarita Dochevea

Architectural Drafting (3rd Place) - Alicia Wilson

Automotive Service Technology (3rd Place) - Seydina O. Sarr

Other students who competed include Christopher Andrew; Melanie Clarkson; Marlene Condell; Patience Condell; Deborah Crum; Jeanette Dawson; Mahogany Duncan; Ramona Elder; James Edris; Mary Fretwell; Lisa Galm; Patricia "Annette" German; Michael Grace; Diana Javakishiville; Victoria Lewis-Samuel; Candice McCamman; Kendra McLeod; Barth Murrell; LaTetha Parham; Ashleigh Sanders; Tiffany

Smith; Jessica Tanner; Tanaganyika Ward; Njambi Williams; Aundrea Wright; Zacaeria Yarbrough; and Byron Zellars.

The college has eight centers of learning in DeKalb, Newton, Rockdale and Morgan counties.