Thirteen players named to Region 8 football team

The accolades keep rolling in for the Heritage football team. After head coach Chad Frazier was named Region 8-AAAA coach of the year and defensive lineman Ryan Watson was picked as the defensive player of the year, the Patriots put nine other players on the all-league lists Friday. The first team was littered with Patriots as linebacker Chase Alford was one of five unanimous first-team selections. Alford was joined by running back Quami Stanley, offensive lineman Harrison Baize, linebacker Dustyn Moore, defensive back Jamaal Lane and kicker Harrison Kulp.

The Patriots, who won 10 games for the first time in school history and advanced to the second round of the state playoffs, also put a trio of players on the second team. Defensive lineman Bryan Taylor was joined by linebacker Dominique Parker and offensive lineman Brenton Wilson.

"It's just a tribute to those kids and what they've done, the hard work," said Frazier, whose team split the region championship with Clarke Central and Flowery Branch. "I nominated eleven (players) and nine of them made it. You think of nine and they went...44 kids, nine out of the 44, out of eleven teams...it's great that they're recognized and our program (is) being recognized like that."

Rockdale had three players receive all-region honors, including second-teamers Larry Jones (defensive lineman) and defensive back Nick Coggins, and honorable mention selection Anthony Adams, a defensive lineman.