Qualifying for municipal elections approaches

COVINGTON - Candidates, get those hats ready to toss into the ring. Qualifying for the Nov. 8 Municipal Election takes place next week, Aug. 29 through Sept. 2.

By law, qualifying takes place no earlier than 8:30 a.m. the fifth Monday in August and no later than 4:30 p.m. the following Friday. Qualifying fees are set at 3 percent of the annual salary of the office. Below are details for each municipality. All positions are for four year terms.


Posts up for election include mayor, currently held by Kim Carter; Post 1, West Ward, held by Janet Goodman; Post 2 East Ward, held by Mike Whatley; and Post 3, East Ward, held by Keith Dalton.

Fees are $360 for mayor and $180 for council.

Covington's qualifying is handled by the Newton County Board of Elections and will take place from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday in the Board of Elections Office in the Newton County Administration Building at 1113 Usher St.


This year, the mayor's seat is up for election, as well as Post 1, 2 and 3 on the council. Currently, the mayor's seat is held by Jerry Roseberry, Post 1 by Frank Davis, Post 2 by George Holt and Post 3 by Hoyt Oliver.

The qualifying fee is $105 for mayor and $75 for each post seat.

Qualifying will begin at 8:30 a.m. Monday and will continue until 4:30 p.m. Friday at Oxford City Hall, located at 110 West Clark St.


The mayor's seat and council posts 1 and 2 are on the ballot. Those positions are currently held by Bobby Hamby, Robert Foxworth and Linda Finger.

Fees are $35 for mayor and $15 for council posts.

Qualifying will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday at Porterdale City Hall located at 2400 Main St.


Post 1, held by Gene Downs and Post 2, held by Dennis Fincher, are open for qualifying. Interested citizens should file a notice of candidacy at Town Hall,located at 4224 Ga. Highway 142, between 8:30 and 4;30 p.m. Monday through Friday, and pay a fee of $25.


Qualifying will take place from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. all week except Wednesday, when City Hall will be closed. City Hall is located at 3146 Ga. Highway 11.

Positions up for election are mayor, currently William Cocchi; Post 1, currently held by Orville McGunigal; Post 2, currently held by Helen Robertson; Post 4, previously held by the late Larry Haigwood.

Fees are $36 for mayor and $18 for council.

Residents have until Oct. 11 to register and be eligible to vote in the election.