Early voting begins Monday

COVINGTON -- Early voting for the November general election begins Monday at the Board of Elections office located in the Newton County Administration Building at 1113 Usher St., Suite 103.

Early voting will continue through Oct. 29, during regular business hours, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Voters should come with photo identification, such as a Georgia driver's license. Voters do not have to declare a party.

"There is no party designation. They will all be on the ballot and you can vote for as many (races) as you want or as few as you want," said Board of Elections Director Donna Morrison.

Those who are not registered to vote have until Oct. 4 to do so in order to cast their ballot in the Nov. 2 election. To register, visit the Board of Elections office or download a registration form at the Secretary of State's website at http://sos.georgia.gov and mail the completed form to the Board of Elections at P.O. Box 1274, Covington, GA 30015.

Any mail-in application must be postmarked 30 days prior to an election. Anyone registering to vote for the first time in Georgia by mail must include proper identification with the application, and should call the Board of Elections office at 770-784-2055 to verify receipt.

Absentee ballots are also available at the Board of Elections or via the Secretary of State's website.

To check voter registration status, find your polling place and view a list of your representatives, visit the Secretary of State's website and click on "Elections" and then "MVP." Later, a sample ballot will be posted on the site.

Locally, the race for Board of Commissioners District 2 will be decided, with Republican Ricky Corley facing Democrat Lanier Sims. The District 4 race was decided in the July 20 primary, when incumbent J.C. Henderson bested Republican rival Kenneth Hardeman.

The Board of Education District 3 race, pitting Republican Kevin Wade against Democrat Shakila Henderson-Baker, will also be decided, along with the District 5 race, where Republican Abigail Morgan Coggin will face Democrat Sharon Sawyer. Republican Jeff Meadors secured the District 1 seat in the primary runoff.

Also on the ballot are the races for State Senate District 17; House District 95; Congressional District 7; and the statewide races for governor; lieutenant governor; secretary of state; attorney general; state school superintendent; U.S. senator; and public service commissioner.