Voters to head to the polls for runoff election today

COVINGTON -- Polls are open today from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. for the primary runoff election. Voters in Newton County will cast votes in several state and local Republican and Democratic runoffs.

Locally, some district voters will cast their votes for Newton County Board of Education candidates.

Residents who live in District 1 will have a choice between Republicans Jeff Meadors or Dale Thompson. District 1 includes voters who cast ballots at Brewers, Brick Store, Mansfield, Newborn and Rocky Plains precincts, as well as part of Downs and the Hub precincts.

Residents who live in District 3 will choose between Democratic candidates Shakila Henderson-Baker or James Johnson Jr. District 3 includes Almon, Crowell and Fairview precincts, as well as a portion of Beaver Dam, Cedar Shoals, Gum Creek and Stansells precincts.

Statewide, Republican voters will choose from among the following candidates: for governor, Nathan Deal or Karen Handel; attorney general, Sam Olens or Preston W.

Smith; commissioner of insurance, Ralph T. Hudgens or Maria Sheffield; public service commissioner, John Douglas or Tim Echols; U.S. House District 7, Jody Hice or Rob Woodall; and state Senate 17th District, Todd Hilton or Rick Jeffares.

Democratic voters will choose between state candidates for secretary of state, Gail Buckner or Georganna Sinkfield; and a state representative for District 95, incumbent Toney Collins or Pam Dickerson.

Residents must have registered to vote by June 21 in order to cast a ballot in the runoff elections.

Board of Elections Director Donna Morrison said residents who were registered and eligible to vote in the primary but did not cast a ballot still can vote in the runoff election for either party.

Those who voted in the primary must vote in the same party for the runoff.

Voters can visit the Newton County Board of Elections website at co.newton.ga.us to see if they are registered to vote and to view a sample ballot.