18 qualify for BOC, BOE seats

COVINGTON -- Eighteen residents qualified this week for local Democratic and Republican seats on the Newton County Board of Commissioners and the Board of Education.

Five residents -- one Republican and four Democrats -- qualified for seats on the Board of Commissioners that are up for re-election this year. And 13 residents -- seven Republicans and six Democrats -- are running for three open seats on the Board of Education, which are being vacated by the current incumbents.

As of 1:30 p.m. Friday, the following candidates had qualified with the Newton County

Democratic and Republican parties:

* Board of Commissioners, District 2

Republican: Rickie Corley

Democrat: Earnest Simmons (incumbent), Lanier Sims

* Board of Commissioners, District 4

Republican: None

Democrat: J.C. Henderson (incumbent), Kenneth Hardeman

* Board of Education, District 1

Republican: Ronald Cary Hart, P. Jeffrey Meadors, Dale M. Thompson

Democrat: None

* Board of Education, District 3

Republican: Kevin Wade

Democrat: Shakila Baker, Pamela Consuegra, James Johnson Jr., Tony D. Collins, Christine Brown

* Board of Education, District 5

Republican: Abigail Coggin, James Travis Price, J. Timothy Walden

Democrat: Sharon Sawyer

Qualifying ended at noon Friday. Those running for Board of Commissioners had to pay a qualifying fee of $569.54, and Board of Education candidates paid $216.

The primary elections take place on July 20, and the general election is set for Nov. 2.