Social Circle sets election, qualifying

SOCIAL CIRCLE - The civic-minded are invited to throw their hats into the ring of Social Circle politics at the end of August.

The Social Circle City Council approved on Tuesday the call for an election and named City Clerk Susan Roper as election superintendent.

Qualifying for city elections begins at 8:30 a.m. Aug. 31, and continues until 4:30 p.m. Sept. 4. The election will be held Nov. 3, at the city of Social Circle Community Room located at 138 E. Hightower Trail.

The hours of qualifying each day will be Monday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Tuesday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Wednesday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Thursday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; and Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Qualifying will be held at the City Clerk's office in City Hall, located at 166 N. Cherokee Road.

Districts 1 and 3 on the City Council are up for election this year. Traysa Price and David Keener currently hold those seats, respectively.

The qualifying fee for the City Council posts is $72, representing 3 percent of their gross salary.

The terms of office are four years. The mayor and Districts 2 and 4 will be up for election in 2011.

Also up for election this year will be the Board of Education chairman and BOE Districts 2 and 4. Hal Dally is the current BOE chairman; Tony Hooks serves in District 2 and Dan Chisholm is the BOE member from District 4.

The qualifying fee for Social Circle City School Board is $18. In certain instances, a candidate may file a pauper's affidavit instead of paying the qualifying fee.

Those not registered to vote may do so until Oct. 5 at City Hall or at the Walton County Registrar's Office, located at 303 Hammond Drive in Monroe.

Advance voting will begin Oct. 26, and continue through Oct. 30.

In other news, the Social Circle City Council approved this week the appointment of Kent Adams to take the place of Joe Johnston as chairman of the Planning and Zoning Commission. The council also approved the reappointment of Signora Jackson, Shirley Moore and Frank Sherill to serve another two-year term.

Council members David Keener and Angela Porter agreed to defer offering three names to serve on the city's Ethics Ordinance Committee until the council's Aug. 18 meeting.