MLK committee seeks nominations

COVINGTON -- The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee is asking the community for help in finding some deserving people to honor.

Each year, the committee hands out the I Have A Dream Award to an individual who "epitomizes the philosophy of Dr. King," according to Secretary Josephine Brown. Last year, the committee also created a new honor, called the Trailblazer Award, which is given to someone who has contributed a lifetime of community service.

Both awards are handed out during the annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration, which will be held at 3 p.m. Jan. 17 at the Olive Swann Porter Auditorium at Newton High School.

The committee is currently accepting nominations for both awards.

Criteria for the honors are the same, except that for the Trailblazer Award, the honoree must have devoted much of his or her life to service, while for the I Have A Dream Award, at least two years of community service is required.

Other criteria is as follows:

* Honorees must be registered to vote;

* must be affiliated with a church;

* must model a spirit of peace and unity;

* must initiate and support change;

* must be endowed with a humble spirit;

* must be steadfast in his or her convictions;

* must be one who fosters education.

* Contributions must be visible to the community and not for profit; and

* contributions must be non-discriminatory.

Past recipients of the I Have A Dream Award include the Rev. Forrest Sawyer, Dennis Cheek, Flemmie Pitts, Rev. Clara Lett, Willie J. Smith and Doug Bolton. B.C. Crowell was the first recipient of the Trailblazer Award.

Nominations should include as much information about the nominee as possible, and a picture if available, said Brown. Contact information for the person making the nomination should also be included.

The deadline to submit nominations is Jan. 8. Nominations should be mailed to King Celebration Committee, P.O. Box 185, Covington, Ga., 30015. For more information, call 770-787-5669 or 678-758-3320.