Local races overrun with candidates

COVINGTON - As one member of the local Republican Party put it, "It looks like it's going to be a long, hot summer."

When qualifying for the July 15 general primary wrapped up at noon on Friday, a total of 37 candidates had qualified in local races. Only a few will not have opposition.

The most hotly contested races include the Board of Commissioners chairman's seat, with a total of six candidates - three Republicans and three Democrats.

Seven candidates have qualified for the District 3 commission race, four in the District 1 race and three in the District 5 race.

With Sheriff Joe Nichols retiring after three terms, six candidates are vying to fill his seat.

The following is a complete list of qualifying candidates as reported by the Newton County Republican and Democratic parties at noon Friday.

· Board of Commissioners Chairman

Republican: Aaron Varner (incumbent); Ed Hutter; Susette Monk

Democrat: Emmett Denby; Kathryn G. Morgan; Hubert White

· District 1 Commissioner

Republican: Mort Ewing (incumbent); Ann H. Wilson

Democrat: Mark Patrick; Willie J. Smith

· District 3 Commissioner

Republican: Matthew Eason; Keith Mitcham

Democrat: Jimmy Clark; Andre Cooper; Victor Etefia; Nancy Schulz; Gabrial White

· District 5 Commissioner

Republican: Tim Fleming; John Travis

Democrat: Randy Vinson

· Board of Education District 2

Republican: Rickie Corley (incumbent); Don Gresham

Democrat: Eddie Johnson

· Board of Education District 4

Democrat: Almond Turner (incumbent)

· Sheriff

Republican: Chris Cowan; Stacey Cotton; Marty Roberts; Bill Watterson;

Democrat: Ezell Brown; Gwen Hightower

· Tax Commissioner

Republican: Barbara Dingler (incumbent); Doris Strickland

Democrat: Nicholas P. Day

· Probate Judge

Democrat: Henry Baker (incumbent)

· District Attorney Alcovy Judicial Circuit

Republican: Ken Wynne (incumbent)

· Clerk of Superior Court

Republican: Linda Hays (incumbent)

· Coroner

Republican: Tommy Davis

· State Senate District 17

Republican: John Douglas (incumbent); Mike Crotts

Democrat: Rudy B. Cox

· State House District 95

Republican: Erick Hunt

Democrat: Toney Collins; George Wilson

· State House District 110

Republican: John Lunsford (incumbent)

· State House District 112

Republican: Doug Holt (incumbent)

· U.S. Senate

Republican: Saxby Chambliss (incumbent)

Democrat: Dale Cardwell; Vernon Jones; Rand Knight; Josh Lanier; Jim Martin

· U.S. Congress, District 7

Republican: John Linder (incumbent)

Democrat: Doug Heckman

· U.S. Congress, District 8

Republican: Rick Goddard

Democrat: Jim Marshall (incumbent); Robert Nowak

Crystal Tatum can be reached at crystal.tatum@newtoncitizen.com.