Qualifying wraps up

COVINGTON - Qualifying for the July 15 general primary ends at noon today. On Thursday, candidates for the District 3 county commission seat and coroner added their names to the Republican ballot.

Representatives with the Newton County Democratic Party could not be reached for comment on Democratic qualifiers.

As of 4:30 p.m. Thursday, the following candidates had qualified:

· Board of Commissioners Chairman

Republican: Aaron Varner (incumbent); Ed Hutter; Susette Monk

· District 1 Commissioner

Republican: Mort Ewing (incumbent)

· District 3 Commissioner

Republican: Matthew Eason; Keith Mitcham

Democrat: Andre Cooper; Nancy Schulz

· District 5 Commissioner

Republican: Tim Fleming

Democrat: Randy Vinson

· Board of Education

District 2

Republican: Rickie Corley (incumbent); Don Gresham

Democrat: Eddie Johnson

· Board of Education

District 4

Democrat: Almond Turner (incumbent)

· Sheriff

Republican: Stacey Cotton; Bill Watterson; Marty Roberts

Democrat: Ezell Brown; Gwen Hightower

· Tax Commissioner

Republican: Barbara Dingler (incumbent); Doris Strickland

· Probate Judge

Democrat: Henry Baker (incumbent)

· District Attorney Alcovy Judicial Circuit

Republican: Ken Wynne (incumbent)

· Clerk of Superior Court

Republican: Linda Hays (incumbent)

· Coroner

Republican: Tommy Davis

· State Senate District 17

Republican: John Douglas (incumbent); Mike Crotts

Democrat: Rudy B. Cox

· State House District 95

Democrat: George Wilson

· State House District 110

Republican: John Lunsford (incumbent)

· State House District 112

Republican: Doug Holt (incumbent)

· U.S. Senate

Republican: Saxby Chambliss (incumbent)

Democrat: Dale Cardwell; Vernon Jones; Rand Knight; Jim Martin

· U.S. Congress, District 7

Republican: John Linder (incumbent)

Democrat: Doug Heckman

· U.S. Congress, District 8

Republican: Rick Goddard

Democrat: Jim Marshall (incumbent); Robert Nowak

Qualifying for the Republican Party is taking place at Strickland and Strickland law firm at 2115 Usher St. For more information, call Republican Party Chairman Steve Bray at 678-296-0461 or Charles or Louise Strickland at 770-786-5460.

Candidates running as Democrats should call First Vice Chairman Jerry Childers at 770-786-4305 or Landis Stephens at 770-595-4498 to set up a time to qualify.

Qualifying for the District Attorney's Office and state and congressional seats takes place at the state Capitol in Atlanta. Qualifying for nonpartisan, independent and political body candidates will be held in June.

Crystal Tatum can be reached at crystal.tatum@newtoncitizen.com.