Qualifying continues

COVINGTON - More than 20 candidates have qualified to get on the local ballot for the July 15 general primary so far.

Qualifying began Monday and is ongoing through noon Friday.

As of 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, the following candidates had qualified:

Board of Commissioners Chairman

Republican: Aaron Varner (incumbent); Ed Hutter; Susette Monk

District 1 Commissioner

Republican: Mort Ewing (incumbent)

District 3 Commissioner

Republican: Keith Mitcham

Democrat: Andre Cooper; Nancy Schulz

District 5 Commissioner

Republican: Tim Fleming

Democrat: Randy Vinson

Board of Education District 2

Republican: Rickie Corley (incumbent); Don Gresham

Democrat: Eddie Johnson

Board of Education District 4

Democrat: Almond Turner (incumbent)


Republican: Stacey Cotton; Marty Roberts; Bill Watterson

Democrat: Ezell Brown; Gwen Hightower

Tax Commissioner

Republican: Barbara Dingler (incumbent); Doris Strickland

Probate Judge

Democrat: Henry Baker (incumbent)

District Attorney Alcovy Judicial Circuit

Republican: Ken Wynne (incumbent)

Clerk of Superior Court

Republican: Linda Hays (incumbent)

State Senate District 17

Republican: John Douglas (incumbent)

State House District 95

Democrat: George Wilson

State House District 110

Republican: John Lunsford (incumbent)

State House District 112

Republican: Doug Holt (incumbent)

U.S. Senate

Republican: Saxby Chambliss (incumbent)

Democrat: Robert Brown; Dale Cardwell; Vernon Jones; Jim Martin

U.S. Congress, District 7

Republican: John Linder (incumbent)

Democrat: Doug Heckman

U.S. Congress, District 8

Republican: Rick Goddard

Democrat: Jim Marshall (incumbent); Robert Nowak

Qualifying for the Republican Party takes place from

9 a.m. to noon and from 1 to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and from 9 a.m. to noon on Friday at Strickland and Strickland law firm at 2115 Usher St. For more information, call Republican Party Chairman Steve Bray at 678-296-0461 or Charles or Louise Strickland at 770-786-5460.

Candidates running as Democrats should call First Vice Chairman Jerry Childers at 770-786-4305 or Landis Stephens at 770-595-4498 to set up a time to qualify.

Qualifying for the District Attorney's Office and state and congressional seats takes place at the state Capitol in Atlanta. Qualifying for non-partisan, independent and political body candidates will be held in June.

Crystal Tatum can be reached at crystal.tatum @newtoncitizen.com.