Pats got top talent in tennis
Heritage players dominate selections for All-Region

CONYERS - The Heritage boys tennis team dominated Region 8-AAAA again this spring, claiming their second straight region championship.

The Patriots also dominate the Region

8-AAAA Coaches' All-Region Tennis Teams with six players on the first and second teams. Heritage's Chuck Landy is the Boys Coach of the Year after guiding the Patriots to an 18-6 record (13-0 in 8-AAAA), repeat titles in the subregion and region, and a trip to the Class AAAA quarterfinals.

Heritage junior Jonathan Stone is a first-team selection in singles. The Patriots' No. 1 player posted an impressive 22-0 record this spring, including a 13-0 mark against region competition.

The Patriots' No. 1 doubles tandem of seniors Blake Craft and Brad Hardin also earned first-team honors. Craft and Hardin were 20-4 this year with a 13-0 mark in the region.

Heritage sophomore sensation Zach Landy was named to the second team in singles. Landy registered an 18-6 record at No. 2 singles for the Patriots, including a 13-0 mark in region play.

J.J. Ramsey and Jacob Zirbel, the Patriots' No. 2 doubles team, also earned second-team honors. The senior duo was 20-4 this spring, and they also had a 13-0 record in region competition.

On the girls team, Eastside's Qeiarra Johnson was a second-team singles selection.

Alcovy's Kyle Jackson and the Rockdale doubles team of Steven Rouk and Andrew Stover were boys honorable mention. The Eastside doubles team of Sierra Petree and Hailey Jones earned a spot on the girls honorable mention.

SideBar: All-Region Tennis

8-AAAA Coaches' Tennis Teams


First Team

Coach of the Year: Chuck Landy, Heritage

Singles: Jonathan Stone, Heritage; Josh Donaldson, Cedar Shoals; Nick Tippens, Winder-Barrow

Doubles: Blake Craft-Brad Hardin, Heritage; Brandon Tucker-Zach Nelson, Dacula

Second Team

Singles: Zach Landy, Heritage; Bobby Fede, Habersham Central; Anwar Ferdinand, Dacula

Doubles: J.J. Ramsey-Jacob Zirbel, Heritage; Ryan Meyer-Justin Rush, Dacula

Honorable Mention

Singles: Kyle Jackson, Alcovy; Kevin Ramberg, Dacula; Micajahj Cooper, Cedar Shoals; Zach Vining, Winder-Barrow

Doubles: Gabe Irby-Michael Gale, Habersham Central; Steven Rouk-Andrew Stover, Rockdale


First Team

Girls Coach of the Year: Keith Strickland, Madison County

Singles: Mariel Herrera, Dacula; Kate Lanier, Habersham Central; Paige Oelke, Cedar Shoals

Doubles: Sarah Powers-Amber Hill, Madison County; Holly Knight-Stephanie Weeden, Dacula

Second Team

Singles: Jeannie Bowe, Madison County; Caitlin Hosford, Dacula; Qeiarra Johnson, Eastside; Doubles: Taylor Davis-Meck Xayavongsa, Habersham Central; Abby Crowe-Paige Carver, Dacula

Honorable Mention

Singles: Molly Smith, Madison County

Doubles: Zelda Speight-Evan Adams, Winder-Barrow; Maggie Allen-Claire Stovall, Habersham Central; Sierra Petree-Hailey Jones, Eastside; Shanique Lovelace-Caitlin Clark, Cedar Shoals; Jessie Speight-Quinn Edgar, Winder-Barrow