0

Cast a ballot
Advance voting begins Monday for primary

CONYERS - Georgia voters can begin going to the polls Monday when advance voting begins in the Feb. 5 presidential preference primary to select Democratic and Republican nominees for president.

The advance voting period runs through Friday and permits voters the opportunity to cast a ballot ahead of the primary election day. Voters can cast a ballot at the Board of Elections offices in Conyers and Covington and have their votes count toward their precinct totals.

Rockdale County Elections Supervisor Cynthia Welch said advance voting is convenient for some people who want to avoid the rush to the polls on Election Day. In Rockdale County, residents can vote at the Board of Elections office located at the Parker Road facility, 1400 Parker Road, Lobby C. The office is open each day from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Voting will be extended to 7 p.m. on Thursday and Friday.

In Newton County, residents can cast ballots at the Board of Elections offices, located in the county's administration building at 113 Usher St., Suite 103. The office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day.

At stake in the Feb. 5 primaries are delegates to both the Democratic and Republican conventions. Georgia is an open primary state, meaning voters do not have to declare a party affiliation until they reach the polling place.

Georgia is one of 24 states holding primary elections or caucuses on Feb. 5, often referred to as Super Tuesday.

The election results will be used by the state Democratic and Republican parties to select delegates to the national party conventions to determine presidential candidates for the Nov. 4 general election.

Welch reminded all voters that Georgia law requires registered voters this year to show photo identification when voting in person. When voting absentee by mail, photo identification is not required.

There are six accepted forms of photo ID: a Georgia driver's license, even if expired; any valid state or federal government issued photo ID, including a free voter ID card issued by your county registrar or Georgia Department of Driver Services; a valid U.S. passport; a valid employee photo ID from any branch, department, agency or entity of the U.S. government, Georgia, or any county, municipality, board, authority or other entity of the state; a valid U.S. military photo ID; or a valid tribal photo ID.

Newton County Elections Supervisor Donna Morrison said no in-person voting will be held at the Board of Elections office on Feb. 4.

Jay Jones can be reached at jay.jones@rockdalecitizen.com

SideBar: At A Glance

The advance voting period in Georgia for the Feb. 5 presidential preference primary runs from Monday through Friday. Residents in Rockdale and Newton counties can cast ballots early at their county's Board of Elections offices.

Below is a list of candidates who will appear on the primary election ballot along with their official campaign Web sites:

Republican

Rudy Giuliani, www.joinrudy2008.com

Mike Huckabee, www.mikehuckabee.com

Alan Keyes, www.alankeyes.com

John McCain, www.johnmccain.com

Ron Paul, www.ronpaul2008.com

Mitt Romney, www.mittromney.com

Duncan Hunter*

Tom Tancredo*

Fred Thompson*

Democrat

Hillary Clinton, www.hillaryclinton.com

John Edwards, www.johnedwards.com

Mike Gravel, www.gravel2008.us

Barack Obama, www.barackobama.com

Joe Biden*

Chris Dodd*

Dennis J. Kucinich*

Bill Richardson*

*Candidates who have dropped out of the race prior to the Feb. 5 primary election.