Newton County Farm Bureau wins award

MACON - The Newton County Farm Bureau received the Georgia Farm Bureau Outstanding Young Farmer Committee Award during the organization's 70th annual convention held Dec. 7 through 9 on Jekyll Island. The Newton County Committee competed against committees from nine other districts for the state honor. This is the 12th consecutive year the committee has won the award.

Chuck Berry serves as committee chairman and Keith Mitcham serves as co-chairman. Brent Galloway is president of the NCFB.

The NCFB Young Farmer Committee was honored for the many activities it has completed in the past year to promote agriculture. One of the many events the committee conducted was holding a class for first responders to teach them how to handle farm accidents.

The NCFB was also recognized as a finalist for the GFB McKemie Award, the highest honor that a county Farm Bureau in the state can receive. Newton County was one of 10 county Farm Bureaus to be recognized as a finalist in the 3,000-plus member category. The McKemie Award is a memorial to one of the organization's former presidents, W.J. McKemie. It is awarded to a county Farm Bureau in recognition of its efforts to promote agriculture in its local community.

Founded in 1937, Georgia Farm Bureau is the state's largest general farm organization. The organization has 158 county offices. Its volunteer members actively participate in local, district and state activities that promote agriculture awareness to their non-farming neighbors. GFB also has 20 commodity advisory committees that give the organization input on issues pertinent to the major commodities grown in Georgia.