Newton 8U Hurricanes win football tournament

MACON - The Newton County 8-and-under Hurricanes had an impressive playoff run, not allowing any opponent to score as they won the 2008 Southeast National Football Tournament in Macon from Nov. 28 to 30.

Helping keep the opponents off the scoreboard were free safety Jalen Williams and cornerbacks Fletcher Jordan and Seth Jordan.

"The defense was tenacious for four quarters with a constant pressure up front, tight pass coverage and sure tackling," coach Mike Jones said.

Offensively, the Hurricanes, behind quarterback Brice Smith Jr., scored 61 points in the four-game championship run.

Christian Murray provided the Hurricanes with a lot of tough yards, while Demetrius Tuggle and Stephon Rambus proved to be a solid a combination at running back.

Providing the backfield with the time needed for the plays to develop were Spurgeon Gaither, Eli Hardeman, Spencer Tanner, Andrew Binion, Cameron Thomas, Levi Gibbs, Courtney McCoy, Jason Taylor, Robert Ingle and James McKay.

"The offensive line controlled the line of scrimmage the entire game, allowing the Hurricanes to average over five yards per play," Jones said.

The Hurricanes ended their season with a 20-0 win over the Jones County all-stars in the championship game.

The team started the road to the championship with a 27-0 win over the Atlanta Knights-Walker before getting by the Riverdale Blackhawks with an 8-0 decision.

In the semifinals, Newton County ousted the defending champions, Atlanta Knights-Buchanan, by a score of 6-0.